College, Deep thoughts, Loveydovey, Travel

bye bye boyfriend and brother

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Soooo let’s be honest: I’ve been neglecting this blog a little bit lot. But let’s put that aside. Cut to the chase: Over the past week I’ve had two goodbyes that have made the experience of going to college way too surreal.
First off, I said bye to my boyfriend.
Exactly one week ago, a lovely boy took me out to breakfast. But after breakfast, I had to say goodbye to that lovely boy, Spence. It was rough. The night before we had celebrated his birthday early- with dinner at the Cheesecake Factory and a last night together (for a while) chilling at my house. We faced unreal, crazy, touchy emotions the last day/night/morning we spent together before he left. SO much happiness from being together for so long and celebrating the relationship we have. SO many laughs, jokes, and smiles as we hung out, reminisced, and watched Ferris Bueller’s Day Off for some comic relief. WAY more crying than I’m ever used to, caused by being reluctant of change, and thinking about having to be apart for four months. But overall, we realized some important things. We realized that we’re closer than ever, we’re lucky/blessed to have each other, and we should not take time together for granted! So with that rough goodbye, we started the dreaded but embraced long distance relationship and approximate countdown til Christmas break (15 weeks). Thank goodness for technology. We’re doing good so far!

Second off: I said bye to my brother!

Tuesday afternoon Spencer left town, and Wednesday, my mom and I flew out to New York to meet up with my dad and brother (who drove out). The next morning, we moved my brother into his dorm at Syracuse University. After trips to Bed Bath and Beyond and Target, he was good to go (and has 24 packs of Ramen stuffed in his closet, wait whaaa?). The next day (Friday) we listened to the welcome convocation and then had lunch in the Carrier Dome. And lucky for me I got to see my friend Kelsey since she’s going to SU too! Later in the day we ate dinner with Trevor then bid him farewell. This time, not quite so emotional. It was just different. Don’t judge.

The drive home with my parents was quite uneventful, but our first stop was Niagara Falls in CANADA!! We put our recently renewed passports to use! I can now check off the Maid of the Mist boat ride from my pretend bucket list. And I brought home the blue plastic poncho, because that’s not weird at all (I’ll take anything I can get fo free). The falls were amazing, and I would just like to confirm that the Canadian falls (Horseshoe Falls) really are better than the American falls. The city is sooo tacky with Hard Rock, Margaritaville, gambling, night clubs, and more(!) but it was good to experience the lovely falls and park surrounding them. (And, did you know, the drinking and gambling age in “most” parts of Canada is nineteen?!? I thought it was eighteen. What do I know. Nothing apparently.) Other than that, our other notable stops on the drive home included the Chocolate Garden in Coloma, MI and the Old Market area in Omaha, NE.

Goodbyes can be hard, but they make you appreciate what you have in your life. And man am I feeling grateful lately. Perhaps a little lonesome, but grateful!

College countdown: T-14 days til we start driving to Cali!

Standard

Leave a Reply

