Photos, Random, Travel

Super Sick Saturday!

Yesterday I ventured downtown to Denver with my parents and my boyfriend and we ate glorious breakfast burritos, went to the art museum, AND experienced the chalk art festival! And the best part? It was super fun and cheap as dirt….just the way I like it!

The breakfast burritos at Benny’s are the bomb.com and they’re basically the same price as a Qdoba or Chipotle burrito. Except theirs are served with potatoes, eggs, cheese, your favorite meat, and they are smothered in freshly made green chili! YUMMM. The only thing is, they are so big they last your stomach approximately 2-3 meals!! So be careful when planning your diet for the day! But regardless, I highly recommend Benny’s and their breakfast burritos. Also, if you order a soda, they give you a GIGANTIC cup and it’s obvious they’re not trying to rip you off when it comes to anything!
After burrito overload…. it was time for the art museum. I’m not always the most art-enthused person, but, who can pass up a FREE day at this lovely museum?! I sure couldn’t. A lot of the classic Native American, Asian, and Alaskan/Eskimo(?) art wasn’t too exciting… it’s great but it seemed quite expected and repetitive (yikes that was harsh- who do I think I am? An art critic?!! …I suppose I was yesterday? Without qualification. ha.). We, me and the boyfriend, loved the Madeline Albright pin collection, Renaissance art (always amazes me ever since my AP European history class…nerd alert), photography, contemporary weird stuff, and last, the chair exhibit. Yes, chairs. It was about “what is modern?” Seriously, look up Charles Eames and you’ll gain respect for chairs like I did.
The last part of the excitingness was seeing the Denver Chalk Art Festival in Larimer Square. I was just in awe of all the pretty colors and extreme artistic abilities! My favorites were the 3D ones and the ones with faces. Because heck, who can draw and shade a face perfectly? No one. Except these people can. On asphalt none the less. Man I’m jealous. After we saw nearly all of the squares, hurricane force wind started and so did the sprinkling rain. It hurt my heart to see the rain drops hit the art. But I don’t think it ever poured so I think they survived ok? I wouldn’t know though because we started heading back across town to the parking garage in the wind and rain, never looking back!

That was all the excitement of my Saturday because once I got home my accomplishments included eating way too much cinnamon bread, napping, watching Friends, eating leftovers, and watching the Office.
But overall, it was a super sick (sick in the good way) day!

Standard

One thought on “Super Sick Saturday!

Leave a Reply

